ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

(Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

20th May, 2011 **Members Present:** The Mayor: **Councillor Mrs.L.H.James The Deputy Mayor: Councillor H.M.Bebell Councillors:** C.J.Crowley, Mrs.A.P.Davies, D.K.Davies, D.W.Davies, J.Dinham, M.B.Gunter, Mrs.J.Hopkins, S.K.Hunt, H.N.James, I.B.James, M.L.James, Mrs.D.Jones, Mrs.J.Jones, Mrs.O.Jones, S.Jones, D.Keogh, E.V.Latham, Mrs.M.A.Lewis, F.H.Little, A.R.Lockyer, S.J.Mason, J.Miller, Mrs.S.Miller, C.Morgan, J.D.Morgan, Mrs.S.M.Penry, M.Protheroe, H.G.Rawlings, P.A.Rees, C.E.Richards, B.Roblin, J.Rogers, D.J.Sparkes, T.J.Sullivan, J.C.Tallamy, A.Taylor, A.J.Taylor, A.H.Thomas, J.Warman, I.D.Williams, Mrs.L.G.Williams, L.W.Willis and A.N.Woolcock

The Mayor welcomed Members of Council and invited guests to the Annual Meeting of Council. Prayers were then given by Father John Thomas.

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

On the motion of Councillor M.L.James, seconded by Councillor Mrs.S.M.Penry, it was:-

RESOLVED: that Councillor H.M.Bebell be elected Mayor for the Civic Year 2011/2012 pursuant to Section 23(1) of the Local Government Act 1972. Councillor Harry Bebell then subscribed to the Oath of Allegiance administered by the Chief Executive and made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Mayoress for the Civic Year would be Mrs. Paula Bebell and the Mayor's Chaplain would be The Rev. Soba Sinnathamby.

2. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

On the motion of Councillor A.Taylor, seconded by Councillor T.J.Sullivan, it was:-

RESOLVED: that Councillor J.Dinham be appointed the Deputy Mayor for the Civic Year 2011/2012 pursuant to Section 24(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Jeff Dinham then made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Deputy Mayoress for the Civic Year would be Mrs. Brenda Dinham.

3. INVESTITURE OF MAYORESS AND DEPUTY MAYORESS

The Outgoing Mayor's Consort, Mr. Cyril James, invested the Mayoress with her Insignia of Office.

The Mayoress invested the Deputy Mayoress with her Insignia of Office.

4. MAYORAL ADDRESS

The Mayor, Councillor Harry Bebell, then made his Mayoral Address and also took the opportunity to thank Members for their support in electing him as Mayor and to acknowledge the services of the retiring Mayor and Mayor's Consort.

5. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR

On behalf of the Council, Councillor A.Taylor was pleased to extend a vote of thanks to the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Mrs. Lella James, for the manner in which she and her Consort had carried out their Mayoral duties. Councillor T.J.Sullivan was pleased to endorse the vote of thanks on behalf of the Council.

The Mayor then presented the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Mrs. Lella James, with her Past Mayor's Medallion and a Photographic Album, and the Mayoress presented the Outgoing Mayor's Consort with his Past Mayor's Consort Medallion.

6. **<u>RESPONSE BY THE OUTGOING MAYOR</u>**

Councillor Mrs. Lella James, in response to the vote of thanks, offered the Mayor and Mayoress her congratulations and took the opportunity to thank those who had given her support and encouragement throughout her Mayoral Year, including Members and Officers of the County Borough Council and her Chaplain.

7. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE</u> <u>COUNCIL</u>

On the motion of Councillor D.W.Davies, seconded by Councillor H.N.James, it was:-

RESOLVED: that, pursuant to Part 4, Section 1(1.1) of the Constitution, Councillor A.H.Thomas be appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor P.A.Rees be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Civic Year 2011/2012.

Report of the Chief Executive

8. ADMINISTRATION ISSUES FOR THE CIVIC YEAR 2011/12

The Chief Executive reported that, as it was not practicable for the various administration issues to be dealt with at the Annual Meeting, it was intended to convene a Special Meeting of Council on Wednesday, 25th May, 2011.

RESOLVED: that the Administration Issues, as set out in the circulated report, be considered at the Special Meeting of Council on the 25th May, 2011, subject to the continuation of the Executive Members and the Chairs and Vice Chairs up to the date of the adjourned Meeting.

The Mayor then declared the Meeting closed.

MAYOR