ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

(Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

Members Present: 18th May, 2007

The Mayor: Councillor E.Jones

Councillors: H.M.Bebell, C.J.Crowley, D.K.Davies, D.W.Davies,

L.J.Davies, J.Dinham, Mrs.J.Dudley, Mrs.C.Edwards,

J.D.Edwards, D.V.Funning, M.B.Gunter, Mrs.J.Hopkins, H.N.James, Mrs.L.H.James, M.L.James, Mrs.J.Jones, M.I.Jones, D.Keogh, E.V.Latham, A.S.Lewis, D.Lewis, Mrs.M.A.Lewis,

P.G.Lloyd, E.Loaring, J.Miller, Mrs.S.Miller, C.Morgan, J.D.Morgan, J.Myers, G.D.Owen, Mrs.S.M.Penry, H.G.Rawlings, C.E.Richards, P.D.Richards, B.Roblin, Mrs.P.E.Spender,

T.J.Sullivan, J.C.Tallamy, A.Taylor, A.H.Thomas,

Mrs.P.J.Thomas, A.J.Tutton, D.Vaughan,

W.D. Walters, J. Warman, I.D. Williams, L.W. Willis

and A.N.Woolcock

The Mayor welcomed Members of Council and invited guests to the Annual Meeting of Council. Prayers were then given by the Reverend Clifford Thomas.

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

On the motion of Councillor J.Dinham, seconded by Councillor T.J.Sullivan, it was:-

RESOLVED: that Councillor A. Taylor be elected Mayor for the

Civic Year 2007/2008 pursuant to Section 23(1) of the

Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Anthony Taylor then subscribed to the Oath of Allegiance administered by the Chief Executive and made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Mayoress for the Civic Year would be Mrs. Annette Taylor and the Mayor's Chaplain would be Father Matthew Gibbon.

2. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR</u>

On the motion of Councillor P.G.Lloyd, seconded by Councillor E.Loaring, it was:-

RESOLVED: that Councillor M.B.Gunter be appointed the Deputy

Mayor for the Civic Year 2007/2008 pursuant to Section 24(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Malcolm Gunter then made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Deputy Mayoress for the Civic Year would be Mrs. Mary Gunter.

3. INVESTITURE OF MAYORESS AND DEPUTY MAYORESS

The Outgoing Mayoress, Mrs. Doreen Jones, invested the Mayoress with her Insignia of Office.

The Mayoress invested the Deputy Mayoress with her Insignia of Office.

4. MAYORAL ADDRESS

The Mayor, Councillor Anthony Taylor, then made his Mayoral Address and also took the opportunity to thank Members for their support in electing him as Mayor and to acknowledge the services of the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

5. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR

On behalf of the Council, Councillor P.G.Lloyd was pleased to extend a vote of thanks to the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Elwyn Jones, for the manner in which he and his Mayoress had carried out their Mayoral duties. Councillor D.W.Davies was pleased to endorse the vote of thanks on behalf of the Council.

The Mayor then presented the Outgoing Mayor, Councillor Elwyn Jones, with his Past Mayor's Medallion and a Photographic Album, and the Mayoress presented the Outgoing Mayoress with her Past Mayoress' Brooch.

6. RESPONSE BY THE OUTGOING MAYOR

Councillor Elwyn Jones, in response to the vote of thanks, offered the Mayor and Mayoress his congratulations and took the opportunity to thank those who had given him support and encouragement throughout his Mayoral Year, including Members and Officers of the County Borough Council and his Chaplain.

7. <u>APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE</u> COUNCIL

On the motion of Councillor E.Loaring, seconded by Councillor D.W.Davies, it was:-

RESOLVED: that, pursuant to Part 4, Section 1(1.1) of the

Constitution, Councillor D. Vaughan be appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor A.H. Thomas be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Civic

Year 2007/2008.

Report of the Chief Executive

8. <u>ADMINISTRATION ISSUES FOR THE CIVIC YEAR 2007/08</u>

The Chief Executive reported that, as it was not practicable for the various administration issues to be dealt with at the Annual Meeting, it was intended to convene a Special Meeting of Council on Wednesday, 23rd May, 2007.

RESOLVED: that the Administration Issues, as set out in the

circulated report, be considered at a Special Meeting of Council on the 23rd May, 2007, subject to the continuation of the previous Cabinet and all other Committee Membership arrangements up to that date.

The Mayor then declared the meeting closed.

MAYOR