## NEATH PORT TALBOT COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL CYNGOR BWRDEISTREF SIROL CASTELL NEDD PORT TALBOT

#### **ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL**

## 17<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2007

#### **REPORT OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

#### 1. <u>INTRODUCTION</u>

The principal purpose of the Annual Meeting of Council is to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the ensuing Civic Year, together with the Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council.

There are also a number of other matters for the Council to determine at its Annual Meeting (set out below), some of which may be adjourned to another meeting the following week.

#### 2. THE CURRENT STRUCTURE

The Council has a Constitution based on a Leader and Cabinet Executive. Part 3 of the Constitution summarises the discharge of functions by:-

- (i) Cabinet and Cabinet Boards
- (ii) Scrutiny Committees
- (iii) Other Committees of the Council.

The next sections of this report set out the decisions required for the Civic Year 2007/08 based on the current Constitution provisions.

#### 3. <u>DECISIONS REQUIRED FOR CIVIC YEAR 2007/08</u>

#### (1) APPOINTMENT OF CABINET AND CABINET BOARDS

To affirm the size of the Cabinet and the Cabinet Boards in accordance with the Constitution; and to appoint Members thereto. The Constitution provides as follows:-

- (i) Cabinet of 10 Members including the Leader;
- (ii) the following Cabinet Boards:-
  - Policy and Resources Cabinet Board
     (3 Members holding Cabinet Portfolios 1, 2 and 3)
  - Social Care, Health and Housing Cabinet Board (2 Members holding Cabinet Portfolios 4 and 5)
  - Children, Young People and Education Cabinet Board (2 Members holding Cabinet Portfolios 5 and 6)
  - Economic and Community Regeneration Cabinet Board (2 Members holding Cabinet Portfolios 7 and 8)
  - Environment and Highways Cabinet Board
     (2 Members holding Cabinet Portfolios 9 and 10)

**Note:** the Cabinet Boards are "Cabinet Committees" under the Local Government Act 2000.

- (iii) Portfolios of Cabinet Members:-
  - Portfolio 1 Community and Strategic Leadership
  - Portfolio 2 Finance and Improvement
  - Portfolio 3 Corporate Services
  - Portfolio 4 Social Care, Health and Housing
  - Portfolio 5 Children and Young People
  - Portfolio 6 Education and Lifelong Learning

- Portfolio 7 Community and Leisure Services
- Portfolio 8 Economic Development and Property Services
- Portfolio 9 Environment and Transportation
- Portfolio 10 Streetcare and Highways Services.

Council is requested to consider the arrangements in (i) (ii) and (iii) above, and to appoint Members of the Cabinet, and to Cabinet Portfolios.

**Note:** <u>Appendix 'A'</u> sets out the current Membership arrangements for all Cabinet posts and for executive and non executive Committees.

#### (2) <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES</u>

The following Committees are proposed for appointment, and to be responsible for the functions set out in the Constitution:-

#### (i) Scrutiny Committees

•	Policy and Resources Scrutiny Committee	16 Members (incl.4 Chairs of other Scrutiny Cttees
•	Social Care, Health and Housing Scrutiny Committee	13 Members
•	Children, Young People and Education Scrutiny Committee	15 Members (plus 4 voting/ 4 non voting co-optees)
•	Economic and Community Regeneration Scrutiny Committee	12 Members
•	Environment and Highways Scrutiny Committee	12 Members

**Note:** These Committees are "Overview and Scrutiny Committees" under the Local Government Act 2000.

#### (ii) Other Committees

<ul> <li>Planning and Development Control Committee</li> </ul>	40 Members
• Registration and Licensing Committee*	15 Members
<ul> <li>Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee†</li> </ul>	15 Members
• Personnel Committee	12 Members
• Special Appointments Committee	9 Members
Audit Committee	12 Members
• Appeals Committee	5 Members (plus 20 substitutes)
• Standards Committee	2 Members and 1 Substitute (and 4 other external voting appointees)

(\* new title – for all licensing not covered below) († new title as statutory committee under the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Acts 2005)

### Council is requested to consider the following:-

- (a) to appoint the above Committees for the Civic Year 2007/08 (i.e. the period to the next Annual Meeting) and to determine the number of places thereon;
- (b) to confirm the apportionment of seats amongst the constituted Political Groups (refer to Appendix 'B') but to unanimously resolve that, pursuant to Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the political balance requirements of Sections 15 and 16 do not apply to the Appeals Committee.

- Notes: (i) for the Appeals Committee, the substitute

  Members to be 12 Labour Group; 3 Plaid Cymru

  Group; 3 NPT Ratepayers Group; and one each

  from the Independent and Democratic Group and
  the Liberal Democrat Group;
  - (ii) for the Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee, the 1989 Act does not apply, but the principle of proportionality still pertains as the membership follows the same as that of the Registration and Licensing Committee.
- (c) to approve the Members (and substitutes where relevant) to serve on each Committee on the basis of the wishes of each Political Group and also the appointment of voting and non voting co-optees on the Children, Young People and Education Scrutiny Committee for Education matters; (Note: there are currently two Parent/Governor vacancies)
- (d) to appoint the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Committees;
- (e) to re-appoint the Neath Port Talbot Council Members, and the Community Committee Member to the Standards Committee for the ensuing year (together with substitutes i.e. one for NPT Member, one for Community Committee Member).

# (3) APPOINTMENT OF STAFF COUNCIL AND OTHER MEMBER/OFFICER GROUPS

It is proposed that a Staff Council of 12 Members be appointed for the Civic Year 2007/08, together with a Local Government Services Sub Group (7 Members) and a Schools Sub Group (7 Members). Council is asked to appoint a Chairman and Members thereto. There will also be appropriate Trade Union representatives.

Council is also requested to appoint three Member Briefing/Advisory Groups (chaired by the relevant Cabinet Member), namely:-

- (i) Safer Neath Port Talbot Group (15 Members)
- (ii) Communities First Group (all ward Members for the CF areas)
- (iii) Modernisation Group (10 Members)

## (4) <u>APPOINTMENTS TO JOINT COMMITTEES, OUTSIDE</u> <u>AND OTHER PUBLIC BODIES</u>

Details of the appointments for 2006/07 can be found in **Appendix 'C'.** Council is asked to determine new appointments for the Civic Year 2007/08.

For Joint Committees, the Assembly now permits non executive Members to serve on such Committees where they deal with executive functions. The Members will however represent the executive, be accountable to the executive and thus the Cabinet is responsible for making such appointments.

## (5) <u>TIMETABLE AND CYCLE OF MEETINGS</u>

The proposals here are set out in **Appendix 'D'(i) and (ii)** for Council's consideration and approval.

## (7) APPOINTMENT OF SUB COMMITTEES

The Sub Committees below will be dealt with by the relevant Committees:-

 Planning (Site Visits) Sub Committee – 12 Members (with relevant ward members and UDP Cabinet Member attending in a non voting capacity)

- Children's Services Scrutiny Sub Committee 7 Members
- Licensing and Gambling Acts Sub Committee (3 Members with Substitutes).

#### K.R. Sawyers Chief Executive

## **Background Papers**

Constitution Document.

#### **Contact Officer**

P. Moran, Head of Democratic Services

Tel: 01639 763303 E.mail: p.moran@npt.gov.uk